Sermons

You can play or download sermons and all-age talks delivered at Brightons Parish Church from this page. To download a sermon, just choose the three dots at the right of the player to open the menu and choose the Download option.

Also available are the PowerPoint images that were used with the sermons, copy of the sermon text if you prefer to read than listen, and the weekly newssheet to let you see the whole order of service and keep you updated.

We also have a YouTube Channel where you can video some past sermons which were delivered via that medium during Covid-19 restrictions:
http://live.brightonschurch.org.uk/

March 2020

Tuesday 31 March

Here are a few resources about Examen prayer:
https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/reimagining-the-examen/id1065042173

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gmail.dtaylor.loyola.DailyExamen&hl=en_GB

https://www.ignatianspirituality.com/ignatian-prayer/the-examen/how-can-i-pray/

Sunday 29 March

Within the service a number of items were named to encourage us during this time:
SONG BY MATT MAHER – ALIVE & BREATHING:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYUJjsgd96k

ONLINE BIBLE READING PLANS:
FOR OLDER YOUTH AND ADULTS –
https://bible.com/p/25168351/eab32ce01b2ebcd74c7632e109934751
FOR OLDER CHILDREN AND YOUNGER YOUTH:
https://bible.com/p/25253826/1adc878a73782d16d5f29e68fc5bfec7

To see the Bible story animation, visit our Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/pg/BrightonsParishChurch

Tuesday 24 March

Sunday 22 March

Please visit our YouTube Channel to watch or listen to the whole service, or portions of it: http://live.brightonschurch.org.uk/

Sunday 15 March

Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – Luke 9 v 51-62; Philippians 2 v 1-8

Sunday 8 March

All-age Message – Rev Scott Burton
Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – James 5 v 10-20

Sunday 1 March

All-age Message – Rev Scott Burton
Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – James 4 v 11 – 5 v 9

February 2020

Sunday 23 February

Evening Service

Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – Matthew 6 v 5-13

For the evening service, we watched the second video from the 24/7 Prayer Course. You can view this here:
https://prayercourse.org/session/adoration/

Morning Service

All-age Message – Rev Scott Burton
Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – James 4 v 1-10

Sunday 16 February

All-age message – Rev Scott Burton
Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – James 3 v 13-18; Proverbs 2 v 1-6

Sunday 9 February

All-age message – Rev Scott Burton
Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – James 3 v 1-12

Sunday 2 February

All-age message – Rev Scott Burton
Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – James 2 v 14-26

January 2020

Sunday 26 January

Evening Service

Morning Service

All-age message – Rev Scott Burton
Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – James 2 v 1-13

Sunday 19 January

Rev Sandra Mathers – Sermon – James 1:19-27
Rev Sandra Mathers – All-age message

Sunday 12 January

Mr Ian Baillie – Sermon – Psalm 90:9-17; James 1:9-18
Mr Ian Baillie – All-age Message

Sunday 5 January

Rev Kenny Borthwick – Sermon – James 1:1-18
Rev Kenny Borthwick – All-age Message

December 2019

Sunday 29 December

Rev Scott Burton – All-age Message – Matthew 4:12-20

Sunday 22 December

All-age Message – Rev Scott Burton

Sunday 15 December

Rev Scott Burton – Sermon – Luke 1:57-79

Sunday 8 December

Rev Scott Burton – Sermon – Luke 1:26-47
Rev Scott Burton – All-age message

Sunday 1 December

Rev Scott Burton – Sermon – Luke 1:1-25
Rev Scott Burton – All-age message

November 2019

Sunday 24 November

Evening Service

Rev Scott Burton – Sermon – 1 Thessalonians 1:1-10

Morning Service

Rev Scott Burton – Sermon Pt. 1 (Pre-video) – Psalm 139:1-10; Acts 11:19-30
Rev Scott Burton – Sermon Pt. 2 (Post-video) – Psalm 139:1-10; Acts 11:19-30

During the morning sermon, a video was shown of encouragements within Brightons Church at this time. You can view the video here:
https://youtu.be/pae8gRwL8c8

Rev Scott Burton – All-age message

Sunday 17 November

Rev Scott Burton – Sermon – Haggai 2:20-23; John 17:20-26
Rev Scott Burton – All-age message

Sunday 10 November

Rev Scott Burton – Sermon – Remembrance Sunday; Isaiah 2:1-5

A video was shown during the service of Korean War veteran Fred Towns-Mason. You can view the video here:

https://youtu.be/DrcjGDy3M_8 (short version)
https://youtu.be/O9J0kmzU6TY (long version)

Sunday 3 November

Sermon – Rev Scott Burton – Haggai 2v10-19; John 15v1-17
All-age talk – Rev Scott Burton